Staff Selection Commission (SSC)

Last Modified on : 25 Apr 2024

SSC (Staff Selection Committee) is a government body established in 1975 to recruit employees for different posts in the different ministries and departments of the Government of India and numerous Subordinate organizations. As a recruitment process, SSC organizes various exams such as–

  • SSC CGL: Combined Graduate Level for the Posts of Officers, Inspector, Sub Inspectors, Assistants, Junior Statistical Officer, Ministry of Railway, National Investigative Agency, Auditor for CAG, Ministry of External Affairs CBI, and Central Service Secretariat etc.
  • SSC CHSL: Combined Higher Secondary Level Examination for the posts of Postal Assistant, Data Entry Operator, and Lower Divisional Clerk.
  • SSC SI CAPF: This exam is specially conducted for the post of Sub-Inspector in Delhi Police and Central Armed Police Forces and Assistant Sub Inspector in CISF at different places in the country.

Out of these exams, SSC CGL is the most sought after exams by applicants because of the status and position it is conducted for. And this is the reason that the number of applicants keeps on increasing significantly each year. However, this doesn’t make the rest two exams (SSC CHSL & SSC SI CAPF) any easier. No matter which exam a candidate plans to apply for, thorough preparation is inevitable. Below candidates can find a brief about each SSC exams that are held annually for different posts in different government departments.

List of SSC Entrance Exams

Scroll left or right to view full table

SSC CGL (Staff Selection Committee Combined Graduate level) Exam


As mentioned earlier, SSC CGL exam is conducted for high position jobs which attract a lot of applicants toward it, making the exam a lot more competitive. The SSC CGL exam is conducted in three phases – Tier-I (Preliminary), Tier-II (Mains), and Tier-III (Descriptive Test).

Tier-I or Preliminary SSC CGL exam consists of 4 sections – Reasoning, English Language, Quantitative Aptitude, and General Awareness. The exam includes 100 questions of 2 marks each. And, each section contains 25 Objective Type Questions. The duration of the exam is 60 Minutes (1 Hour) and it is conducted in Online mode.

Tier-II or Mains SSC CGL exam consists of 4 papers –

  • Paper 1 Quantitative Aptitude
  • Paper 2 English Language & Comprehension
  • Paper 3 Statistics
  • Paper 4 General Studies (Finance and Economics)

Out of these 4 papers, Paper 1 and Paper 2 are held on the same day and are common for the posts of all categories. However, Paper 3 is conducted additionally for the candidates applying for the Post of Junior Statistical Officer (JSO) and Paper 4 for the position of Assistant Accounts Officer (AAO). Further details are as follows-

  • Duration for each Paper (I, II, III, and IV) is 2 Hours for General Candidates and 2 Hours 40 Minutes for VH and Cerebral Palsy Candidates.
  • Number of questions
    • Paper I is of 100 questions (200 marks)
    • Paper II is of 200 questions (200 marks)
    • Paper III is of 100 questions (200 marks)
    • Paper IV is of 100 questions (200 marks)

Tier 3 SSC CGL exam is a Descriptive type of exam in which a candidate is asked to write an Essay/Letter/Precis/Application. This exam is of 1-hour duration and carries 100 marks.

Additionally, there is also a Tier IV exam which is basically a computer based test conducted to tests the skills of the candidate.

To get complete details click here

SSC CHSL (Staff Selection Committee Combined Higher Secondary Level) Exam


SSC CHSL is another important SSC exam held for the recruitment of candidates in different Ministries/ Organizations/ Departments of the Government of India. The post for which the SSC CHSL is conducted includes:

  • Postal Assistant
  • Data Entry Operator
  • Lower Divisional Clerk
  • Court Clerk

The SSC CHSL exam is conducted in three phases –

  • Tier-I: Objective Multiple Choice
  • Tier-II: Descriptive Paper (English or Hindi)
  • Tier-III: Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test

The first phase paper is conducted online and the rest two are held in offline mode. The whole process from registration to communication is done through the official website of SSC CHSL. Moreover, a candidate has to qualify each phase in order to get to the next one before being finally recruited.

Tier-I paper comprises 100 questions of 2 marks each. The duration of the paper is 75 minutes (1 Hour and 15 Minutes).

Tier-II paper is Descriptive type Pen and Paper-based test in which a candidate is asked to write an Essay and Letter/Application. The duration of the paper is 20 minutes.

Tier-III paper is a Skill and Computer Proficiency Test in which a candidate’s skill and computer knowledge are tested.

Learn more about SSC CHSL Exam

SSC SI CAPF (Staff Selection Commission Sub Inspector in Delhi Police and Central Armed Police Forces) Exam


SSC SI CAPF is a special SSC exam, specifically held for the position of Sub Inspector in Delhi Police and Central Armed Police Forces and Assistant Sub Inspector in CISF at different locations. The exam is conducted in 4 phases which include:

  • Phase-I: Written Test
  • Phase-II: Physical Test
  • Phase-III Personality Interview
  • Phase-IV Medical Test

Phase-I exam includes 200 Objective Type Questions of 1 marks each. The duration of the exam is 120 Minutes (2 Hours). It is conducted in online mode. The exam has 4 parts –

  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • General Intelligence and Reasoning
  • English Comprehension
  • General Knowledge and General Awareness

Phase-II exam includes English Language and Comprehension. It has 200 objective type questions of 1 mark each and the duration of the exam is 120 Minutes (2hours). Moreover, applicants who qualify the Phase-I paper, are allowed to get to the next exam which is Physical Endurance Test/PST or Medical Test. After that, candidates need to write the Phase-II paper. However, it is important to note that the evaluation of written exam in Phase-II is done only if the candidates qualify the PET/PST and Medical test.

In Phase-III paper, candidates who qualify in the Phase-II paper are called for the Phase-III round i.e. Personal Interview. The marks that candidates score in this round are added to the final scorecard of the candidate. The final scorecard includes the marks scored by the candidate in the Paper I, II, and II.

In Phase-IV paper, candidates who successfully qualify the PET are called for the CAPF medical examination.

The final merit list of the selected candidates is prepared on the basis of the marks scored by them in Paper I, II, and Personal Interview.

Read full detail, eligiblity and other important dates - Click here