You are here : Home >> Medical >> AIPGMEE Exam

Latest Updates About AIPGMEE 2017 Exam: Important Exam Dates; Application Form; Eligibility Criteria; Exam Pattern; Admit Card; Result; Counselling

AIPGMEE Entrance Exam - Now NEET

National Board of Examinations (NBE) was set up in the year 1975 by the Government of India with an objective of improving quality of Medical education. NBE used to conduct All India Post Graduate Medical Entrance Examination (AIPGMEE) for admission in MD/MS/Diploma Seats in different medical colleges of India (except Andhra Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir and Telangana) under 50% all India quota scheme.

MBBS degree, registration under the Medical council of India or any of the State Medical Councils and compulsory Rotating internship were eligibility criteria for AIPGMEE

AIPGMEE has been replaced by the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET). NEET has also replaced the All India Pre Medical Test (AIPMT) and all other state-level entrance examinations in 2013. It was first conducted in 2013 and was then opposed by various states as unconstitutional. However, on 28th April 2016, the Supreme Court approved the order to conduct NEET as a single medical entrance exam. In the year 2016, NEET was conducted in two phases.

Undergraduate courses at All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi, Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research (JIPMER) and Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education are outside the purview of NEET.

Here is a list of all other exams which has been replaced by NEET.

  • Aligarh Muslim University (Medical)
  • Manipal PMT
  • Indraprastha University Common Entrance Test (IPU CET) (Medical)
  • CMC Ludhiana
  • CMC Vellore
  • Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences (MGIMS) exam
  • COMEDK (Medical)
  • UP Combined Medical Entrance Test (UPCMET)
  • Bharati Vidyapeeth common Entrance Test (BVP CET) (Medical)
  • Madhya Pradesh Dental and Medical Test (MP DMAT)
  • DPMT
  • And other state level medical entrance exams.

Check complete information on NEET Entrance Exam here.