Presidential Election 2017: Ram Nath Kovind to take the Oath on July 25

Published on : 20th July 2017    Author : Tanvi Mittal

Ram Nath Kovind won the presidential elections 2017 and is elected as the 14th President of India. He defeated Meira Kumar from the opposition.

The nominee of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), Ram Nath Kovind has won the presidential election 2017 on Thursday by a big margin. He will be sworn-in as the 14th President of India on 25 July, 2017.

PM, Modi congratulated Mr. Kovind by Tweeting; “Congratulations to Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji on being elected the President of India! Best wishes for a fruitful & inspiring tenure.”

Ram Nath Kovind New President of India

Mr. Ram Nath Kovind said; “It’s a great responsibility.” “I thank all who supported me from across the country, I feel very emotional, I’ll represent all struggling to make a living.”

Mr. Kovind got 702044 votes in the Electoral College voting held on 17 July while his opponent Meira Kumar, the former Lok Sabha Speaker, got only 367314 votes. Thus, Mr. Kovind got 65.65% of the total valid votes and Meira Kumar got 34.35% votes.

Mr. Ram Nath Kovind, 71 years old, served as the Governor of Bihar (2015-2017). He was a Member of Rajya Sabha for 12 years from 1994 to 2006, ex-president of the BJP Dalit Morcha and former BJP spokesperson. He represented India at the United Nations in the year 2002. Our new President has a B.Com and LLB degree from Kanpur University and had practiced as a lawyer in the Delhi High Court and the Supreme Court for 16 years.

About the Author: Tanvi Mittal

Available Application Forms